Back to Top
A - Z Index  |   Canvas  |   Directory  |   Email  |   My Portal  |   People |    SSO     Disability Accommodation Resources

Accreditation Review Team

Moreno Valley College welcomes the
Accreditation Virtual Site Visit and Accreditation Team
on October 21, 2021.


The Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges will be on campus October 21 for a follow-up site visit. The visiting team will assess the College's improvement with respect to distance education as required during the re-accreditation process that occurred in February of 2020. The team lead is Dr. Rowena Tomaneng, president of San Jose City College. The College's Follow-Up Report and the visiting team's biographies can be found below.

2021 Follow Up Report pdf All College Reports Accreditation Resources


Rowena M. Tomaneng, Ed.D. (Team Chair)

Accreditation team member photo

Rowena M. Tomaneng, EdD has been a multicultural educator in the California Community Colleges for over 26 years. She is currently the President of San José City College (SJCC) in the San José Evergreen Community College District, CA. Prior to SJCC, she was President of Berkeley City College, CA in the Peralta Community College District, and she served multiple roles at De Anza College, CA in the Foothill-De Anza Community College District including faculty teaching courses in literature, ethnic studies, and women's studies, founding Director of the then Institute of Community and Civic Engagement (ICCE), and Associate Vice President of Instruction. Her teaching, research and publications explore human rights, social movements, transnational feminism, and racial equity in education for Asian American and Pacific Islander students.

Dr. Tomaneng serves on the boards of the Chief Executive Officers for the California Community Colleges (CEOCCC) and EDSource. Rowena is also the Vice President of Asian Pacific Americans for Higher Education (APAHE). She received her EdD from the University of San Francisco's School of Education in International and Multicultural Education with a concentration in Human Rights Education, MA in English from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and BA in English from the University of California, Irvine.



Dr. Jennifer Vega La Serna

Accreditation team member photo

Dr. Jennifer Vega La Serna is the Vice President of Academic Services at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, California. She previously served as Dean of Arts and Letters at College of the Sequoias. Dr. Vega La Serna is the Past-President of the California Community Colleges Chief Instructional Officers and a Commissioner for the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges. She recently served on the Board of Directors for the California Community College Athletics Association. She has presented at numerous state and national conferences on topics of accreditation, leadership, mentorship, student athlete academic success, college planning, educational equity and first-year student experiences. Dr. Vega La Serna has written and received numerous grants that support student success including Title V, Pathway to Law School, Basic Skills Student Outcomes and Transformations, and TRiO.

She holds a Doctorate in Education Policy, Planning, and Administration with a specialization in International and Intercultural Education and a Master's in Teaching English as a Second Language from the University of Southern California, a Master's in Education Counseling and Guidance from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, and a Bachelor's in Liberal Studies from the University of California, Santa Barbara. She is a proud alumna of College of the Sequoias.



Mia Wood, Ph.D.

Accreditation team member photo

Mia Wood is a Professor of Philosophy at Pierce College in Woodland Hills, CA, where she has worked since 2007. Prior to her full time appointment, she worked as an adjunct instructor at a number of Los Angeles area colleges and universities. Wood's bachelor's, master's and Ph.D. are in Philosophy, and she routinely conducts courses across the philosophy curriculum. Her accreditation experience includes serving as Pierce's Faculty Accreditation Coordinator from 2011-13.